Capsule Hotel Experience

One of the things I looked forward to on my 2nd trip to Japan was staying at the capsule hotel I booked at the Nagoya airport. There was a need to stay at the airport for a night coz family won’t be arriving until the next day. And i found this a perfect opportunity to finally cross this off my list.

Day of Arrival

The tiring and sleepless midnight flight got me needing some snooze time so i headed straight to the capsule hotel, Tube Sq, when i arrived. Unfortunately, i was told that check in time won’t be til 6:00pm – a bit careless on my part as i didn’t check when i booked the capsule (yeah, i’m that kind of traveler). However, they let me leave my luggages. What a relief!

I decided to explore the airport to pass time and found the Sky Deck! Airplane spotting, anyone?

After I’ve had my fill of flying airplanes and airport tour, I went back to the hotel area to get some rest and catch a nap on one of the benches you see below (bit unsuccessful here).

Check-in Time

At 5:35pm, I marched right back to the hotel as i struggled to keep my eyes open after that ramen dinner. Thankfully, the receptionist agreed to finally process my check in.

Note that if you booked via Agoda or Booking.com, you have to inform the receptionist straight away and show proof of payment to avoid being charged a second time.

You will be given the house rules, your key card, safe and locker key, and your room number tag. 

At the door, you will be greeted by a robot which speaks both English and Japanese. You can ask him questions if you want to but i could not be bothered because – tired. So swiped away and went in.

I know, look at those eyes, he doesn’t look happy about my disinterest on him at all. Lol

First stop: Locker Room

A checked in luggage, a carry on luggage, a backpack, pair of white shoes, and a purse perfectly fit in my locker.

And look at my bag of toiletries and sleepwear!

There’s toothbrush and toothpaste, hair brush, hair gum, headband, towelette, face towel, bath towel, footwear, and a set of sleepwear. I wasn’t sure if I get to keep the bag (looks nice, right?) so i left it in my locker at checkout.

The Filipina lady cleaner then showed me the shower room and the toilet area after I’ve safely stashed my belongings in the locker.

So pristine, right? I kind of didn’t want to go in and mess it up, tbh, but i did! Needed that shower a lot.

The amenities are excellent as you can see. Hotels in Japan – whether cheap or expensive – provide only the best, quality stuff and service. They don’t skimp on anything nor shortchange on toiletries.

This shower room is complete with hair dryer, hair irons/curlers, lotions, creams, handsoaps, shampoo, conditioner, facial cream cleansers, body wash, cotton buds, facial cottons,  down to tissues and personal hampers – each sink/shower cube. That’s just how Japanese service is. Always top-notch.

After my shower, I went straight to my capsule to chill and pass out. Here’s what it looks like inside.



Inside you will find:

– a control panel for lights, airconditioning, and clock.

– led pen light

– charging station

– mirror

– a safety box

– mini stand

– pillow

– a very comfy blanket.

It is also individually equipped with smoke alarms which are connected to the airport so make sure you don’t do anything silly!

Did I mention there’s free wifi?

So, there you have it. One item checked off my bucketlist. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I did my stay.

If you have questions, comments, and suggestions, please feel free to write it down and I will get back to you soon as I can. Safe travels, traveleras! Xoxo

Don’t forget to follow me on instagram and facebook: @pinaytravelera and please subscribe to my youtube channel.